A Slight Life Update (Ramblings)

I have been at University for a month now, and I have never felt such a wide range of emotions within such a short space of time.

During this month, I have made friends, been hurt, homesick, happy and also incredibly, stupidly drunk. I have explored new places, found new comforts and discovered small places of freedom. Lincoln has become a second home to me, I am even starting to get used to the regular, yet still slightly terrifying swan encounters.

And now, my excuse for not writing for around two months. I’ll be honest, my motivation to write immediately went downhill when I was informed that I have to learn how to write in Teeline Shorthand. AKA, the bane of my existence. After being told “It’s like learning a new language!”, my enthusiasm hit an all time low. I have not written on this blog for fear that I may be unmotivated, or put simply, boring.

But do not fear, dear readers, for I am back! (For the time being anyway)
University has made me reflect on a lot of things as of late, and I welcome these reflections with open arms. Being thrown into a new place, with new people and new things to learn, is a big change in terms of what I am used to. Being anxious has become a part of my everyday routine, and although it is difficult, some days are better than others.

I would never have described myself as a social butterfly, nor would I describe myself as shy. I am that awkward grey area, where I can talk to pretty much anyone if needs be, but I also know when to be quiet. A skill not found in quite a few people I have met. When I first applied to University, I imagined myself to be this huge personality, who goes on lots of nights out, has a great time, wakes up the next morning with a coffee and notebook in my hand.
Alas, I am still waiting for the day that I wake up after a night out without a banging headache, last night’s makeup on, and a half spilt cup of water by my bedside.

Journalism is going surprisingly well, I am enjoying my lectures, workshops and seminars. I am not enjoying the 9am starts, and also the thought of reading four consecutive chapters about the Monarchy makes me want to cry, but otherwise, university is a blast.

I am so grateful for the opportunities presented to me whilst I’ve been at university, and I am always grateful for those select people in my life who are a constant support and are also supportive in the background. I cannot thank those people enough.

I will hopefully write again soon, but if not, farewell for now.

5 thoughts on “A Slight Life Update (Ramblings)

  1. Skye it is SO good to hear from you again I understand why you have not written for a while and I see it all as an investment for what you will write in the future so I’m happy to wait for each instalment. Enjoy and embrace every day of university I just can’t wait to see your name in print and trust me it will happen πŸ˜€πŸ‘x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful post, I’m really enjoying university but I’ve never felt as much stress in my life. Anyone who said that uni was easier than A-levels was honestly lying imo. My mental health is never shook easily but I felt such a decline in the past few days. Hope every stays well with you bbz miss you πŸ’–

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment